jeremy & jeanette | a very steampunk portrait session | manhattan, ks portrait photographer

A few months ago, on the weekend of the Sherlock Holmes sequel’s premiere, my wife and I were out on a date, going to an entirely different movie. While in line for popcorn, I noticed, out of the corner of my eye, a couple people dressed up in what looked like genuine Victorian-era clothing. I elbowed my wife (gently, of course) to get her attention, and when I turned to show her the elaborate costumes, I properly looked at the couple and saw that it was Jeremy and Jeanette, some of our friends from church!

After spending a few minutes talking with them and checking out their costume, the majority of which they had hand crafted, I snapped a quick iPhone picture and we went to our separate movies. At the time, though, I had all sorts of ideas jump into being inside my head, and I knew that I just had to make their portraits.

Fast forward to yesterday when we finally got together on campus at Kansas State University to bend some photons to our will. Jeremy and Jeanette had not only dressed up, but they had assembled some rockin’ props to use as well.

First up, some fairly simple headshots against a white background.

Next, we got rid of the white background and worked in front of an awesome wall in the building where Jeremy is currently working on his graduate degree. It’s made of large plates made from the old chalkboards they took down from all the classrooms when they renovated the building. Super cool.

That cane is Jeremy’s grandfather’s, and it has the words “Bubba Stick” carved into it near the handle. True story.

Some of the most very favorite portraits I have ever made, after the jump.ย 

I was really feeling the dark, dramatic mood last night.

More epic props.

After seeing this last one on the camera, Jeanette remarked that it looked like they were just waiting for the zeppelin to arrive and take them away. Love it!

Seriously, some of the most fun I’ve had at a portrait session in a long, long time. Thanks to Tim and Iza, some local photographer friends that came out to hold lights and reflectors and whatnot, and especially to you two, Jeremy and Jeanette, for just plain being awesome! Thanks for coming out and getting all steamed up for us!

2 Responses to “jeremy & jeanette | a very steampunk portrait session | manhattan, ks portrait photographer”

  1. Heather Busing

    These are amazing Rik! Loved the movie too!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • rik

      thanks, Heather! i actually haven’t seen the second one yet, but apparently it comes out on Tuesday, so I’ll be eagerly awaiting when I can rent it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

